This is the area to clarify hardware specification if there's anything unclear from the datasheet. If the specification is software related, please ask in the related software section.

Can the UP Squared board be powered with a battery?

Hello all,

This may be a basic question for many of you, but I’m relatively new to UP Squared.

I have an UP Squared Board that’s currently being powered with the standard 5V@6A power adapter. Given the portability of this device, I’m trying to find a way to power this device with a battery.

I found these two products:

https://up-shop.org/up-peripherals/112-ups-and-wide-range-dc-in-hat.html

https://up-shop.org/up-peripherals/113-3000mah-lipo-battery-use-for-ups-hat.html

My two questions:

1. Can the UP Squared be powered by a battery, easily?
  2. If not easily, at all?
  3. Can the batteries listed power it?
  4. If not, can anyone recommend a battery to power the UP2?

I’m not too concerned about how long the device can run on battery power, as long as it’s anything more than seconds or a few minutes.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• KemoKa
    KemoKa New Member Posts: 1

I was wondering this too, but for the Up Core. I have a special project on which I might be able to get serious headway if I can power it with a battery. Of course, if push came to shove, I could power it using a battery and a charge controller, but just being able to plug a battery in would make it a lot easier.

• UPSquaredQuestions
    UPSquaredQuestions New Member Posts: 5

Both the UP Core and the UP Squared both appear to have what I call a “battery port”. The port on the end of the battery I listed plugs directly into the device. Hopefully someone can confirm whether or not this can work like this.

• nukular
    nukular New Member Posts: 61 ✭✭✭

@UPSquaredQuestions said: