Up2 cluster? cases and form factor

Jan
Jan New Member Posts: 4
I am new to UP squared but was thinking that these board could be used for a mini Kubernetes cluster.

what is the form factor of these boards? they do not seemt to comply to any standard?

are there any cases available for the board+ 1 2,5" SSD, preferably in a stackable configuration?

has anyone built anything similar?

Regards

Jan

Comments

• Aling
    Aling Guest Posts: 561 admin
    Hi,

UP Squared has its proprietary form factor, and it doesn't comply with other known industrial standard.
    At this moment we don't have a plan to make a chassis to accommodate 2.5" SSD.
    We just shared the 3D drawing of UP Squared metal chassis in UP shop product page, maybe you can modify and have 3D printing. :-)
  • Jan
    Searching the shop product page I found nothing, in the wiki I found a link to a rar-file that required me to install an open source rar archive software on my mac, in that file there was a stp-file, I have no idea what an stp-file is.

I spent 10 minutes trying to find software to look at the stp-file om my mac without luck.

It seems clear to me that the target audience for this product is people who like filing their own backplates or like 3d printing, I tinker with software and actually value a nice metal case so I am probably better off buying a stack of mini-itx N4200 servers.

had I been inclined to metal working I would have made a mini-itx tray and backplate with two of these boards each, stuck it in a slim mini-iTX case with 2x2,5" disk and had a real compact solution, a stack of 10 boards would only have required 30x20x22cm, which would have made a pretty cool desktop lab with 80GB of ram.

Still, looks like a real nice and compact board, I will definitely check back on UP in the future.
  • Michael Miller
    Michael Miller New Member Posts: 95