FTDI needed for TX and RX in 40GPIO to enable UART1?

WK Loh
WK Loh New Member Posts: 7
I would like to know if I need a FTDI to enable UART1 on the pin 8 and 10? pls help. I'm a newbie here and with mechanical background. your kind guidance is deeply appreciated.

Comments

• Kurt
    Kurt New Member Posts: 146 ✭✭
    I have not tried the GPIO pins yet on the Up board as I am waiting for Ubuntu 16.04 support.

But I believe the answer is, it depends on what you are using it for. The IO pins on the UP connector are I believe 3.3v TTL level outputs.

So if you are trying to communicate with another board who has a USART that also communicates at 3.3v TTL, then you can directly connect the boards. Note you will also need a common ground wire.

If however your board communicates at 5v, then you will probably require some form of TTL level shifter. You can get these from several different places including Adafruit and Sparkfun...

However if you wish to connect this up to a systems serial port that is communicating using RS232 level signals, maybe with an old style RS232 like connector, then you may need some setup that uses something like a MAX3232 chip to convert the levels.

However if you wish to be able to connect the TTL level UART signals to a PC through USB, then yes you
    then yes you may need something like an FTDI setup. This can be using something like an adapter board or cable like: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9717 . But warning make sure to check that the Cable or board you are using is setup to communicate with 3.3v signals and not 5v signals.
  • WK Loh
    Yes I'm using 3.3v TTL and directly connect to it. however, I cannot detect the UART when I do this > dmesg | grep tty . I cannot see the tty address to the hardware. I have successfully used the FTDI and it works but not the GPIO.
  • Kurt
    Sorry, not sure what you are saying here.