Accessing UART on Win10 Enterprise ltsc

Boesling
Boesling New Member Posts: 9

Hi Folks,
I'm new with my up2 and I have installed Windows 10 enterprise 2019 ltsc. Now I wrote a small test Desktop programm with c#@VS2017 to test the uart communication via the 40 Pin Header (8,10), but I cannot find it with "SerialPort.GetPortNames". The Device Manager shows under Ports 2 COM-Ports UART Sub device (COM2) and UART Sub device(COM4).
If I try to connect the serial port, I get a IOException.
Can anyone help me on this?
Thank you.

Tagged:

Answers

• camillus
    camillus Administrator, Moderator, AAEON Posts: 188 admin
  • Boesling

Hi @camillus ,
    Yes, the latest drivers from your link are installed - still the same issue.
    If I read the "SerialPort.GetNames", I get no results.
    I use a normal c# desktop program (console) for it.

Do you have any other suggestions?
    Thank You.

• camillus
    edited September 2021

Hi @Boesling ,

Kindly install UP framework SDK if you have not, after that install the demo apps and run them. If they work correctly, then something could be wrong in your C# program. You can find the link to SDK and demo apps here.

Best Regards,

• Boesling

Hi @camillus,
    I've installed the framework successfully, but still no success by using the UART from Win10. I think the UART-communication is not handled by the framework, right? I've tried to use the Win32api instead of .net serial port, but also no success.
    Is there a special driver needed to use the uart-port with Windows 10 2019 ltsc?
    best regards,
    Daniel

• camillus

Hi @Boesling ,

We are looking into this and will get back to you soon.

Best Regards,

• g2as
    g2as New Member Posts: 3

Hi, any update on this?
    I can confirm that the serial ports are listed on the device manager but not accessible on Windows 10 IoT Enterprise 64-Bit LTSC 1809.
    Tested with a long used and trusted serial terminal application, the list of serial ports available comes up empty!.