Windows Installation Issues

Options
nturrisi
nturrisi New Member Posts: 2

Hi everyone,

I am a student researcher at Boston University, and I am trying to download Windows 10 Pro onto the 4 GB RAM 64 GB eMMC UP Board. In order to perform the installation I downloaded the Windows 10 media creation tool from the Microsoft website onto a flash drive, and booted the board up on the flash drive to install the OS (no product key). The software installed successfully on the first try, but since then I have been receiving WDF_VIOLATION blue screen error messages that will not let me enter into Windows. I can enter into Windows safe mode and have tried identifying problematic drivers but have had no luck. Is this a common problem with UP board, and is there any way I can fix this blue screen error? Thanks for your support.

Comments

• eduncan911
    eduncan911 Administrator, Moderator Posts: 157 admin
    edited October 2018
    Options

@nturrisi said:
    Hi everyone,

I am a student researcher at Boston University, and I am trying to download Windows 10 Pro onto the 4 GB RAM 64 GB eMMC UP Board. In order to perform the installation I downloaded the Windows 10 media creation tool from the Microsoft website onto a flash drive, and booted the board up on the flash drive to install the OS (no product key). The software installed successfully on the first try, but since then I have been receiving WDF_VIOLATION blue screen error messages that will not let me enter into Windows. I can enter into Windows safe mode and have tried identifying problematic drivers but have had no luck. Is this a common problem with UP board, and is there any way I can fix this blue screen error? Thanks for your support.

Hello and welcome!

In short, Microsoft has confirm a bug within that version of Windows, 1803, and it is said to be fixed in the next Fall release, which is not out just yet.